We all agree that the introduction of Facebook was a game changer in the marketing industry. The cost, coverage and ease of use are incredible. It’s very cost easy and cost effective to advertise your business on Facebook. Facebook is a leading social media platform in terms of features, insights, features, and provides the perfect advertising platform. But not everyone is enjoying the benefits of associated with Facebook.
Advertising on Facebook is a little bit tricky. You need to be a very careful, or otherwise you may end up wasting your hard earned money. It has become the norm most businesses to lose money on Facebook, but you can turn this around and start making decent returns of revenue on this platform.
Don’t be fooled into thinking that using different images or even tweaking copy cover over and over will not yield varied results. What you have been lacking are Facebook’s advertising tips.
Don’t worry if you’re not aware of any of these Facebook ads tips and tricks designed to dramatically change your fortunes, we are here to help you out. Here are the main 5 tips for a successful Facebook advertising:
Facebook Ads Techniques That Work
1. Be Strategic With Your Offer
This is an integral part of any marketing strategy. How you place the offer determines how the customers respond to the advertisement. I’ll quote Gary Halbert, one of the greatest advertisers of the 20th century. He said that “a strong copy will not overcome a weak offer, but a strong offer will succeed in spite of weak copy written by a marketing moron.”
But what does that mean? Gary was simply talking about direct response copywriting, a principle that applies to advertising. No matter what you do, if you design a great offer, you have a higher chance of creating an ad that pays off. This is an important point that anyone getting into advertisement should have at the tip of their hand. This means you must create an attractive offer.
But this is a little bit tricky though. For instance, people tend to think that “great offers” such as cutting off prices by half would be an excellent way to boost their sales or increase their customer base. But that expectation never materialises. For instance, I will provide you with two offers to show the common mistakes that people make.
Up to 50% Off! Best Men’s T-shirts
Every Purchase of this T-shirt supports a poor child.
Both offers are great, but only one will appeal more to customers. The first thing to note is that buyers operate with emotions. If you are selling T-shirts, customers probably they have enough of them at home. Cutting price by half (50%) will not make them buy more but tapping into their emotions could do the trick. You need to make them feel the importance of buying the product. That’s why offer #2 will appeal more to people – the simple fact of feeding a poor child will entice people to buy.
But hey, this does not mean that you start a charity. Just devise means that will make the buyer feel the need to buy your product. Make them feel that they are buying something more important than just the value of the product – just think outside the box. A direct sale is the worst marketing strategy that you can use.
Here are tips on how to create a compelling offer:
- Read “Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion” By Robert B. Cialdini In this book, the good professor will guide you through six powerful ways to influence buying habits of people. These weapons of influence include scarcity, reciprocation, social proof, authority, liking and commitment. He will also show you how, as an advertiser, you can use them to add value to your advertisements, and create persuasive ads to boost your sales.
- Read More Psychology Books The trick to marketing is all about marketing strategy playing with human psychology. To be a good advertiser, you need to learn how human psychology works and how you can exploit it to boost your sales. Read as many books on psychology as you can, this will enable you to start off on the right foot.
- Look at What Your Competitors Are Doing You need to monitor what your competition is doing closely. Make sure you stay on top of the game; otherwise they may kick you out of business. Make sure you are creating irresistible deals and “sexier” offers that will surprise your competitions.
2. Track Sales, Not Vanity Metrics
One thing that I advise beginners about is don’t get overwhelmed by the number of likes or clicks that the ad receives. Be very careful as this may not translate to the intended outcome.
This is one of the mistakes that many people make. The reason for advertising your products on Facebook is to boost your sales by enhancing their visibility. Don’t think that if the ad receives hundreds or thousands of clicks, that is it successful. Instead, track the number of sales made after uploading the ad. The money made directly from the ad is the most important thing you need to focus on. Otherwise, you may be making losses.
Tracking clicks and likes may give false impressions that your ad is working. It’s true that you could be getting something right – visibility and exposure – but you also need to check if you are getting returns on the advertising investment. I can tell you for a fact that many people get caught here. They feel that the exposure will start streaming in customers, but this may not be the case. People may be liking your products, but they are not persuaded enough to purchase.
The truth is, if you are getting thousands of clicks and the numbers of sale are not increasing, then you must be doing something wrong. Why do I say this? A click is an indication that the person has shown some interest but is not persuaded to buy.
What you need to do is to stop the campaign and figure out what the problem is and how you can fix it. Is it that the slogan is failing to work? Are the competitors offering a better deal? What are the best times of year to sell your product?
Once you analyse everything and detect where the problem is be, rectify it and see if the new strategy works.
Another important thing that I would like to mention is about keeping records of your ads. Track from the cost of the ads, to the numbers of sales and the net profit made directly from the advertisement. Don’t be fooled by gross profits, monitor net profits closely to see where losses are being made.
Don’t get too excited, many people make a loss on Facebook and you may not realise it until you are thousands of dollars in the red.
Focus on bottom line sales first. Clicks and engagement come second.
3. Differentiate Between “Creating” And “Building” Ads.
This is another major problem for most people getting into the social media marketing arena, particularly Facebook advertising. Many believe that successful ads are “created,” but this is not the case. You have to work really hard, particularly with your research.
There are several factors that you need to consider to make a successful ad. First, you need the right information about your target audience. This is the basis of any successful campaign. That’s why you don’t “create” an ad, but you build one – you start from the bottom, going up.
But how do you build a successful campaign? With my experience in the Facebook advertisement, I can safely say that I have seen it all. I started with a horribly performing and poorly made ad that cost me a lot money, through to now where I can offer advice. With proper and accurate information, it is easy to build a nice ad or campaign that will turn around your revenue.
First step is to put together a series of building blocks to give shape to your advert. This is the foundation and should be strong enough, backed with accurate research.
Finally, once the building phase is complete, you can start taking care of minor, yet important details such as painting and decoration.
My point is, start on the right foot. Start from the bottom and do not skip any steps. Research is the most crucial part of building a successful Facebook campaign. Research extensively, make sure that every component while building the ad has been put exactly where you can get the best out of it. But you need also consider a few things.
These are tips to help you start off on the right foot:
Put Your Ad in Different Categories
While building a Facebook ad or any other ad, you need to have the elements categorised to simplify the testing process. Break it down as much as you can. Here are the different elements you can test:
- Education level
- Custom audience
- Call to action
- Value proposition
- Landing page
- Campaign objective
- Ad type
- Ad placement
Avoid the “Spaghetti-against-the-wall” Approach
This is the worst strategy anyone can use. The ‘Spaghetti-against-the-wall’ strategy is where you apply trial and error. You try this to see if it works or not. When it comes to Facebook, you must avoid this approach since advertising on Facebook is expensive. Although testing is crucial, don’t create hundreds of different ads just to see which ones work- make just a few and go from there.
You need a strategy that avoids using costly testing methods. There are numerous guides from reputable social media examiners where you can learn tips that work best without the trial and error approach. These are just some places where you can get great information on how to build successful ads.
Don’t Operate on Assumptions
When it comes to Facebook ads, testing is necessary. Don’t assume that everything will work out as planned; otherwise, you will be in for a rude shock. The fancy appearance of the advertisement does not mean that it would convert to real revenue. Note that your opinion does not count when it comes to testing.
Optimise Every Element of Your Ad Creativity
This is the last but not least of the components to “building” ads, particularly Facebook advertising. It’s one of the most crucial steps but the most often ignored too. Creativity has a direct impact on your conversion. The trick to conversion optimisation is making sure that you optimised every element that supports that idea. There are numerous guides from reputable marketers such as the comprehensive guide by Brad Smith that can help you to understand creative optimisation.
4. Emphasis on Lifetime Value
I must agree that the majority of advertisers, especially beginners, set short-term advertising plans. For instance, advertisers look at what they are spending and what they get out of it. You need to take advertising as a long-term investment and avoid the idea of making a quick buck.
Customer LTV (lifetime value) should be the basis of your digital marketing strategy. For instance, if you are selling a product at $50, and the cost of acquiring a new customer is $80, then it may appear like a loss in short-term. But if the customer LTV is $700, then this would be a fantastic investment. You will lose $30 but the lifetime value gains are immense.
The biggest failure in Facebook ads is the lack of LTV when planning their strategies. Don’t focus on the quick sale but long-term gains.
5. Set Clear Goals
This point may appear ridiculous or irrelevant, but it isn’t. Anyone who gets into advertising without a clear goal is taking a risk. But I find this important to mention as many people set the wrong goals. Why do I say this?
The majority of beginners do not know whether they should make long-term or short-term advertisement investments. Some cannot differentiate between the two. The nature of your business and the target of sales are two factors that you need to consider while setting goals.
For instance, if you are targeting 50,000 annual sales, you need a target of 137 units per day. With such figure, you will be able to design a campaign strategy that can reach that target daily. It’ll also be easy for you to evaluate your performance regularly and make changes when necessary. It may appear simple, but you need to be very smart.
I trust that you are now better informed on Facebook advertising after reading this piece. With these five tips, you can create a Facebook advertisement that will fetch you more money than ever before.